Overcoming Your Biggest Two Obstacles: You… and Everyone Else

Self-doubt. What a double whammy. Doubt is hard enough to deal with, but when it’s coming from the inside, out, it’s even harder.

What’s worse is that while few other industries demand the self-confidence required to thrive in network marketing, it’s chief among industries in which doubt itself seems to thrive. Confidence is a must, doubt is a given, and here you are, stuck in the middle between difficult and damaging. What’s a network marketer to do?

Doubt: A Dirty Little Devil

In my morning reading with Napoleon Hill today, he caught my attention in his second sentence:

…let us remind you of the common tendency of human beings to doubt that which they do not understand…

Remind you of anyone? More appropriately, does it not remind you of everyone? I strive to be open-minded, and I feel I’m often rewarded for it, but all of us revert to basic human instinct from time to time (hopefully not all the time) and doubt that which we do not understand. I believe, though, that a combination of pragmatism and curiosity is a far healthier approach to learning about things for which we have little knowledge than cynicism and pessimism. Doubting can damage both the Doubter–who inevitably loses out on many of life’s opportunities–and the Doubted, unless of course the Doubted develops the self-confidence to persevere despite opposition and closed-mindedness. This article is dedicated to the Doubted.

Determination: Doubt’s Biggest Threat

As I continued in my reading, I took note of a common thread best represented by this little nugget:

…there is but little that is strictly impossible when the human mind sets itself to a task with that grim determination that knows no defeat.

Hill goes on to list a number of instances in which people scoffed at ideas that later proved to be brilliant as was the case with Napoleon Bonaparte’s response to Robert Fulton’s steam engine which Fulton claimed–and later proved–could carry a boat against the wind. Flying machines and train brakes powered by air and were also mentioned before Hill summed up his point with these rather sassy words:

But, we are becoming a bit more liberal in our viewpoint concerning powers which we do not understand; at least those of us who do not wish to become the laughingstock of later generations are.

Certainly, none of us wishes to become the laughingstock of later generations. But are we willing to do that which is often doubted, questioned, and even laughed at in order to realize our dreams? This girl is.

To me, that’s what network marketing is all about. Sadly, few who have experienced the lucrative rewards of our industry are given due consideration because many have nefariously paved the way for doubt to enter into any conversation about high earnings potential in a network marketing model. But that’s not going to stop me, and it shouldn’t stop you either.

Forget about everyone else. Have confidence in yourself and in your ability to do anything you set your mind to accomplish. Let your mind “[set] itself to a task with that grim determination that knows no defeat.” As for me, I like to believe I’m a likable gal who has good ideas and a positive track record of success which drives others to believe in me. But to the rest of ’em, I say this:

Question me and I’ll search for deeper answers.
Point at me and I’ll take pleasure in the attention.
Laugh at me and I’ll derive energy from your smile.
Doubt me and I’ll work even harder to prove you wrong.

Just try me.

Napoleon Hill’s Golden Rules, Napoleon Hill, Copyright 2009 by The Napoleon Hill Foundation, pp. 12-13

About jenni smith

Jenni Smith is a recovering fast food addict and a reformed couch potato who swore she'd never be a distributor... until the day she realized the only thing holding her back from reaching her true potential was her own stubbornness. And maybe a bit of fear. When she finally decided to put on her "big girl pants", Jenni (and her rock star husband, Paul) went from founding distributor to top earner in two years, and is now a Youngevity Vice Chairman Marketing Director. With a 15-year career in marketing and two little girls at home, Jenni raises her kids and her family's income at the same time and is passionate about coaching anyone who has: A) a desire for better health; B) a need for better wealth; C) patience for sass.
This entry was posted in Excerpts from the Exceptional, Get Motivated and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

