Growing Great Kids AND Growing Great Income

A dear friend of mine, Kate–mother to the Dove Award-winning and GRAMMY-nominated Francesca Battistelli and wife to my mentor Mike–has inked a book deal that will soon put a how-to guide on the bestseller list for teaching parents (and future parents) how to grow great kids. Having just turned the last page of the pre-published and aptly named copy of “Growing Great Kids” which I managed to snag, I am definitely a fan of Kate’s honest writing style and story-filled pages. I am already looking forward to buying a few copies to share with friends as soon as it hits the shelves (projected to be early next year).

Given my professional background and work ethic, I took special note of the section I read this morning titled, “Workaholic Parents.” Growing up, my parents always made time for me, attended more than their fair share of recitals and practices, and allowed me to be the center of attention as often as I liked (which they probably now realize was far too often!). Not yet having children of my own, I’ve always thought I’d try to balance a career and a kid at the same time; my parents seemed to do it just fine, so why couldn’t I?

Coming up on my fifth wedding anniversary with my unbelievably loving and patient husband, however, I have had to do some honest reflecting and must admit that I’ve already missed too much time burning the midnight oil on work projects that–at the time–I felt deserved prioritizing over quality time with my spouse (not to mention sleep, food, exercise, and sanity). Eager to avoid perpetuating that same mistake for the next fifty years of marriage, and even more so for the raising of our future children, I’ve come to terms with the fact that I needed a back-up plan.

Here’s how the passage from Growing Great Kids reads:

Workaholic Parents

It’s easy to get our priorities mixed up. We think if we give our children every toy and gizmo under the sun they will know how much we love them. We work hard to provide a big home, expensive cars, designer clothes and the newest gadget. We fail to realize the time we spend with our children is far more valuable in their eyes, and in the eyes of God, than anything we can give them. In our misguided effort to provide for our children we can be denying them the most valuable thing they need — our time and attention. Too many families have bought in to the insidious lie of more is better perpetuated in our culture — a bigger home, nicer car, more expensive vacation, the biggest television and the most expensive toys. Mike and I have been unabashed proponents of home-based business for American families for this very reason — they provide the opportunity for at least one parent to stay at home and raise their families and their income at the same time.

When Paul and I were introduced to Beyond Organic, I thought for a brief time that I had found my back-up plan. But it only took a few weeks to realize it was much more. As you may have already read in my recent post, “Napoleon Hill’s Golden Rules | To What Will You Devote Your Life?” in which I divulged my new passion, what seemed to be a good Plan B for my career is shaping up to be quite a rewarding adventure as we build a Beyond Organic team.

I believe this endeavor will allow us to raise a family without sacrificing the income we’ve come to enjoy or the job satisfaction I’ve grown to rely upon for personal satisfaction in life and, furthermore, I believe it offers you the unique opportunity to strike a balance in your family as well. If any part of you resonates with any part of this post, let’s chat. Who knows — it could mean your Plan B is more within reach than you ever realized.

Growing Great Kids, Kate Battistelli, (Publish-pending), p. 105

About jenni smith

Jenni Smith is a recovering fast food addict and a reformed couch potato who swore she'd never be a distributor... until the day she realized the only thing holding her back from reaching her true potential was her own stubbornness. And maybe a bit of fear. When she finally decided to put on her "big girl pants", Jenni (and her rock star husband, Paul) went from founding distributor to top earner in two years, and is now a Youngevity Vice Chairman Marketing Director. With a 15-year career in marketing and two little girls at home, Jenni raises her kids and her family's income at the same time and is passionate about coaching anyone who has: A) a desire for better health; B) a need for better wealth; C) patience for sass.
This entry was posted in Excerpts from the Exceptional and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

