A Baseball Metaphor from the Athletically Reclined

If you follow me on twitter (what? you don’t? why not?! follow me here!) then you know I refer to myself as a “recovering couch potato“. Having just celebrated my fifth wedding anniversary (to the most loving and supportive husband), I have been rather nostalgic lately. Just yesterday, I was remembering how, right before dropping us off at the airport for our honeymoon flight to Kauai five years ago, my father-in-law (a golfing Hall of Fame inductee and well-known coach, pro, and rules official) asked me, “Would you consider yourself athletically inclined?” to which I shyly replied, “Well, I’d consider myself more…athletically re-clined” which was pretty much a conversation-stopper.  Hey, reader, I may be dainty-looking on the outside, but I’m tough as nails on the inside, so don’t judge me!

Thankfully, I’ve been a lot kinder to my body in the last half-decade and am all the healthier for it. Nonetheless, I’ve never been much of a sports fan (which makes it no surprise that I was chronically “last pick” in every game of kickball I was ever forced to play, but I digress).

Still, I appreciate a good sports analogy, especially when applied to business. My good friend, Paul Caldwell, recently shared a Bob Proctor email with me from which I’ve extracted a poignant excerpt that I just had to share today as it so poetically paints the picture of how vital it is for one to take risks–a lesson I’ve struggled to learn in my otherwise all-too-protected life.  Read it, and then read it again:

You will never get to second base if you keep one foot on first. Too many people go through their entire lives playing their cards close to their chest. They never step out and bet on the surest thing in the world … themselves.

If you hope to accumulate great wealth or achieve high goals, history records that the first few steps have a high degree of risk. You must turn your back on safety and security. To make it big, you must take big risks. You will very likely have to put yourself in a highly vulnerable position. It is also worth remembering you cannot almost take a risk.

Eleanor Roosevelt said, “You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face.” Follow her advice and liberate yourself from the crippling emotional state of fear and enter into a world of freedom.

I encourage you to step out, and bet on the surest thing in the world: yourself. You–and only you–can control whether or not you let yourself down. If you’ve grown tired of the corporate rat race, stop for one minute and think about in whose hands you’ve placed your future. Are you betting on your company’s sales trends? Your boss? Your co-workers? How’s that working out for you? For me, it’s worked out really well many times. And many other times, well, it hasn’t. And isn’t that the point?

Ask yourself this tough question: what kind of real security can you find when you are depending on someone else for your success?

When you are ready to step out–whether it’s with Beyond Organic, another network marketing  company, or any other self-reliant goal you’ve always wanted to reach, I hope you’ll appreciate this post and it will give you the courage to simply take that first step. Believe this: you can do it. And once you believe, you will achieve.

About jenni smith

Jenni Smith is a recovering fast food addict and a reformed couch potato who swore she'd never be a distributor... until the day she realized the only thing holding her back from reaching her true potential was her own stubbornness. And maybe a bit of fear. When she finally decided to put on her "big girl pants", Jenni (and her rock star husband, Paul) went from founding distributor to top earner in two years, and is now a Youngevity Vice Chairman Marketing Director. With a 15-year career in marketing and two little girls at home, Jenni raises her kids and her family's income at the same time and is passionate about coaching anyone who has: A) a desire for better health; B) a need for better wealth; C) patience for sass.
This entry was posted in Excerpts from the Exceptional, Get Motivated and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

