What’s Cookin’ at the Smiths

I’m no Kitchen Princess like my dear friend Kate Battistelli (<insert shameless plug for her incredible new book, Growing Great Kids, available now on Amazon–just in time for the holidays!>).  In fact, Kate and I have joked that I’m more of a Kitchen Chemist because I love mixing and matching random things I find around the house (<insert guiltless admission of lazy, not-wanting-to-go-to-the-store-ness>) to create a delicious meal. I love to get creative in the kitchen, and I really love scarfing down my crazy creations.

It’s just about lunchtime here at the Smith house, and since I write best when I’m hungry (<insert snarky comment about how I’m hungry all the time these days>), I thought I’d share of few of the best items off this week’s SmithHouse menu to inspire you to create your own chemistry in the kitchen.

Viva Italia

Paul and I visited a few cities in Italy this summer, and honestly, not a single meal compared to the spaghetti alla bolognese we enjoyed at casa de Smith Monday night. I usually enjoy making my own sauce (and by “my own”, I really mean Kate’s own, as I’ve often used her recipe for fresh tomato sauce) but I was in a hurry and needed to serve up something quick and easy so I cheated just a bit.

We browned a pound of Beyond Organic Green-fed™ beef, then threw it into a pot containing two cans of organic tomato sauce to which I added red pepper flakes, italian seasoning, and sautéed organic onion and garlic (which I cooked in the same pan as the meat once we moved the meat to the sauce pan — the fewer dishes, the better!). We enjoyed that over spaghetti with a side of sautéed spinach. Molto squisito!

Fun-due for Two

Tonight we’ll shred a pound of Beyond Organic Really Raw Cheese  (we combine the cheddar and havarti, but probably use more of the cheddar) and put that in the fondue pot after we’ve brought 8 ounces of beer with fresh minced garlic to a boil. We add the cheese a bit at a time, stirring constantly, and then use a thickener like corn starch with water toward the end to get it to the right consistency. Finally, I add some nutmeg and ground cayenne pepper for kick. We will have blanched broc and cauli for dipping as well as organic apple slices, carrots, and fresh whole wheat bread. What fun! (And oh so delish).

Hot Dog! It’s Hot Dog Night

Paul is a pro at this dish. He’ll slice up and sauté a pound of the Beyond Organic Grend-fed™ hot dogs, in a pan with a little avocado chili oil, chopped onions and peppers. We serve them on a toasted wheat bun with spicy brown mustard and side veggies.  (I found organic french fries that are baked, not fried, and I’m dying to try them out as a special treat…but don’t forget your green vegetables, too. Make mom proud.)

So those are a few of the menu items planned for this week.  I just enjoyed a glass of Beyond Organic Amasai over organic granola and I am already hungry for more…better go see about lunch.

Happy eating!

About jenni smith

Jenni Smith is a recovering fast food addict and a reformed couch potato who swore she'd never be a distributor... until the day she realized the only thing holding her back from reaching her true potential was her own stubbornness. And maybe a bit of fear. When she finally decided to put on her "big girl pants", Jenni (and her rock star husband, Paul) went from founding distributor to top earner in two years, and is now a Youngevity Vice Chairman Marketing Director. With a 15-year career in marketing and two little girls at home, Jenni raises her kids and her family's income at the same time and is passionate about coaching anyone who has: A) a desire for better health; B) a need for better wealth; C) patience for sass.
This entry was posted in What's Cookin' at the Smith's [Recipes] and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s Cookin’ at the Smiths

  1. Pingback: Getting Real with Faux Fois Gras | The Beyond Blah-Blah Blog

  2. Pingback: Getting Real with Faux Fois Gras | The Beyond Blah-Blah Blog

Leave a Reply

