Beyond Organic Team Tip of the Month | March

Angle For Success?How Do You Angle for Success?

In business and in life, we often talk about climbing the ladder to success.  If you were to close your eyes and visualize your proverbial ladder, what would it look like?  Mine used to be perfectly vertical; it required putting all my weight on myself (not to mention those I carried along in-tow) and taking painful step after painful step directly up which I often found to be awkward for future visibility, uncomfortable, and altogether too exhausting.

But what if we positioned our ladder at an angle–leaning against something–so that we could not only displace some of our weight but make it easier to see where we’re headed?  Might that not be a smarter way to climb our way to the top?

As our team leaders often say, the most important thing you can do for your network marketing business is to “Get In, Lean In, and Hang On”.  Today’s tip is on the importance of that middle part:  leaning in (thus the leaning ladder image — see how nicely we tied that together?!).

In stretching to reach Rank Three (Senior Vice President) with Beyond Organic, I found that leaning in to upline support was one of the greatest factors to which I’d attribute our success.  Sure, goal-setting, hard work, and belief played big roles (look for future posts on these topics), but while those manifest from within, leaning in is really the act of reaching out.

From Day One in this business, my sponsor drilled the importance of third-party validation into my head, and while I thought I “got it”, the truth is that I was somehow resistant to the idea–not consciously so, but in a way I didn’t even recognize myself that was clearly preventing me from taking him up on his open-ended offer to speak with my friends,  family, and prospects.  He’d suggest I get him on a three-way call, but the thought always prevalent in the back of my head was, “I’ll call him when I need him, but I got this.”  Ha!  While it was true that I had learned a lot about the Beyond Organic products and even understood the fundamentals of the compensation plan, I was still not seeing the results I expected.  I finally learned that while I could be knowledgeable, approachable, and good at building relationships, I could still not be as EFFECTIVE as I desired.  So, I decided to give this “third-party validation” idea a real try.  And PRESTO!  Things began to immediately catch on fire in our business.

Not only did I learn more and more each time I heard the message shared by a third party with my prospects, but I began to realize that hearing from someone other than me offered a fresh new view on the opportunity, which was definitely more effective.  Does that mean my knowledge is useless?  Certainly not!  It’s been a great personal journey; my family and I benefit from our improved nutritional know-how. Just as importantly, though, my knowledge is used daily by team members who use me for third-party validation for their own respective teams.

It’s often said in network marketing that you are in business for yourself, but never by yourself.  What that oh-so-true statement fails to capture, however, is that the choice to be by yourself or not is yours to make.  Don’t go it alone.  Don’t be a one-man volunteer army.  And don’t make the same mistake I did to think that just because you CAN answer questions and speak intelligently about the Beyond Organic products and opportunity that you SHOULD.  Instead, lean in.   You’ll create a culture that can be duplicated by your growing family of team members, and you’ll have more success with a team than you could ever dream of having on your own.

About jenni smith

Jenni Smith is a recovering fast food addict and a reformed couch potato who swore she'd never be a distributor... until the day she realized the only thing holding her back from reaching her true potential was her own stubbornness. And maybe a bit of fear. When she finally decided to put on her "big girl pants", Jenni (and her rock star husband, Paul) went from founding distributor to top earner in two years, and is now a Youngevity Vice Chairman Marketing Director. With a 15-year career in marketing and two little girls at home, Jenni raises her kids and her family's income at the same time and is passionate about coaching anyone who has: A) a desire for better health; B) a need for better wealth; C) patience for sass.
This entry was posted in Tip of the Month and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beyond Organic Team Tip of the Month | March

  1. Pingback: Dr. Josh Axe says, “Lean In” | The Reformed Couch Potato's Blog

  2. Pingback: April Team Tip | The Most Important Thing… | The Reformed Couch Potato's Blog

  3. Jenny says:

    Thanks for sharing this, Jenni! This was definitely a mistake I made in building my business as well. It all sounds way too familiar. I won’t do that again! I’m super excited to be working with you and the leaders above you! Thank you for your vulnerability and leadership!

Leave a Reply

