February Team Tip | Go for 108 Yards in 11 Seconds

Super Bowl 2013Anyone watch a little football last night? Yeah, me too. And, WOW.

I’m not what you’d call a sports enthusiast, but I enjoy a good game now and again. The rivalry, the excitement, the commercials(!)…they’re all part of what makes the Super Bowl fun, but Paul put his finger on the true magnificence of the bowl when he said, “Is that Destiny’s Child with Beyonce?”

Just kidding. (But he did ask that, too.)

What he actually said was, “I love watching the best of the best do what they do best.” (Okay, I’m totally paraphrasing because I don’t remember what he said exactly, but that was the general gist. And, for the record, he was referring to the men in tight pants, not ‘all the single ladies’ during the half-time show.)

And I couldn’t agree more. When you’re watching athletes perform at the top of their game, you’re watching art in live form. I was impressed, enthralled, and inspired. Considering I didn’t even know which teams would be playing in the big game until a few hours before it started, I think that says a lot.

In the last few minutes of the game, my eyes were glued not to the players, but to the coaches who must have made 100 game-determining decisions in mere seconds. How to run out the clock, which plays to call, when to call a time-out, whether to pass or run…these key choices were made under duress, and with millions of eyes watching.

This all got me thinking about our home-based business.

Jacoby Jones

Jacoby Jones

I’m no Jacoby Jones, but I’ve caught my fair share of kicks in the end zone (yeah, I’m actually attempting a sports metaphor here…just go with it), and I’d like to think I’ve returned one or two for a big score.

Most of the time, of course, business is about the little things. It’s about building long-term relationships; about talking to people concerning the parts of life that interest them; about doing the right thing regardless of payoff. But there are opportunities every once in a while where you can either opt to signal for a fair catch…or you can run with the ball as though everything depends on it. And those are special moments; history-making moments.

But be prepared. Just when you think you’re ready to succeed–when you’ve built up momentum and you’re ready to take things to the next level–the power sometimes goes out. It happens. I mean, if it can happen during the Super Bowl, it can surely happen to anyone. And you’re left with another choice: do you use it as an excuse, or do you push on?

The challenge I’ll issue for this month’s team tip is to push, to stretch, to strive for the touchdown in your business. Make the most of every day. Don’t signal for a fair catch. Instead, take 11 seconds, and run as fast as you can. You might just surprise yourself with what you accomplish.

Epi(b)log: I’m sure the victory tasted almost as good to the Ravens as my Beyond Organic beef and cheddar dogs tasted to me!

About jenni smith

Jenni Smith is a recovering fast food addict and a reformed couch potato who swore she'd never be a distributor... until the day she realized the only thing holding her back from reaching her true potential was her own stubbornness. And maybe a bit of fear. When she finally decided to put on her "big girl pants", Jenni (and her rock star husband, Paul) went from founding distributor to top earner in two years, and is now a Youngevity Vice Chairman Marketing Director. With a 15-year career in marketing and two little girls at home, Jenni raises her kids and her family's income at the same time and is passionate about coaching anyone who has: A) a desire for better health; B) a need for better wealth; C) patience for sass.
This entry was posted in Get Motivated, Tip of the Month and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to February Team Tip | Go for 108 Yards in 11 Seconds

  1. Alan Nathans says:

    I’m pretty sure he ran 109 yards.

  2. gaylobill says:

    My daughter, the football fanatic!!! Great article ! Your dad loved it too.

Leave a Reply

