April Team Tip | The Most Important Thing…

network marketing best practicesAn old friend and I were recently talking about network marketing. She’s a real industry up-and-comer and was interested in applying some best practices for building a strong business that would create long-term wealth and help her make that great escape from the corporate rat race. Sound familiar?

While I’d have a pretty tough time narrowing the myriad business success tips (which far smarter-than-me people have attempted to teach me over the years) down to a single “most important thing”, I think I’ll take a stab at it anyway. But I’m going to cheat and make a list of ALL the “most important things” we can each do to help our businesses mature. Here we go.

The most important thing…

no quittingThe most important thing you can DO is never give up. The only guarantee for failure in this business is to quit. I’m no quitter, and neither are you. Sure, some days will be harder than others. Some days will rain showers of happy money rainbows. Some days will knock the wind out of you…though let’s all agree to not have too many of those! But as long as we KEEP GOING, we’ll find success.

The most important thing you can BE is an influencer. Ever had a friend ask you for a restaurant suggestion? Or ask advice on a tough situation? Or imitate something you did/wore/built/created? Sure you have. That’s because you, my friend, are an influencer. Now, the trick is to find others like you — people who already have a sphere of influence. And I don’t just mean that they know a lot of people or have a lot of Facebook friends (though that is nice). I mean that others follow them.  Other people watch what they do and duplicate them. Set a good example in your own life — physical, nutritional, financial, interpersonal, spiritual, and moral — and others will follow. Then find the ones who seem to have their own followers and invite them into your business.

stopThe most important thing you can STOP doing is (fill in the blank). For me, I have always been an email person. I hate the phone. I avoid it like the plague. I like face-to-face, though. So when I started my business, I avoided the phone and used only email/text and face-to-face visits. But my business started to grow when I STOPPED avoiding the phone and started facing my fears head-on. Whatever that one thing is that you try to avoid, stop it. Give this a try. Your business will see the results!

The most important thing you can KEEP doing is consistently spread the word about Beyond Organic. Use our products in your everyday life. Share them with others. Talk about your goals, your successes, your teams’ successes. Praise your team publicly and frequently. Share your enthusiasm and your positivity. And keep doing it.

Certified Pee-Free Rope

Certified Pee-Free Rope

The most important thing you should NEVER do is “pee down the rope“. Ok, I realize this is a bit of a crass expression. It’s also one people very rarely talk/write/blog about publicly (I know; I googled it) but it’s important–no, make that most important–so I’m including it in my list. Look, you own a business. And owning a business isn’t a cake walk. It can be full of tough stuff. So when you get frustrated, hear bad news, experience disappointment, etc., call your upline, your sponsor, your leaders, or your mom. But never, ever (ever) complain to your downline. They have their own problems. Don’t contribute to them. Am I saying you should hide things? Of course not! (You know me better than that. I’m the person who writes about “peeing down ropes”, remember?) But spare them the whining and moaning, ok? Thank you very much.

third party validationThe most important thing you should ALWAYS do is third party validation. Tired of hearing about this? Too bad. It’s SO true. Our job is to share our enthusiasm and then get our prospect on the phone with our upline for the experts to educate and answer questions. I ignored this advice for a really long time (thinking I knew better). WRONG. (Read more about my wrongness here.) When I finally learned to cut myself off (after sharing a basic message and generating some excitement) and simply say, “I’m still fairly new and I don’t want to tell you anything wrong so you should really talk to my friend, Mike,” that’s when my business really began to grow.

So, there you have it: the “most importants”. I’m going to re-read this list and find the areas in which I could do a better job of putting these best practices into place myself. Got other best practices you’d like to share? Leave a comment!

About jenni smith

Jenni Smith is a recovering fast food addict and a reformed couch potato who swore she'd never be a distributor... until the day she realized the only thing holding her back from reaching her true potential was her own stubbornness. And maybe a bit of fear. When she finally decided to put on her "big girl pants", Jenni (and her rock star husband, Paul) went from founding distributor to top earner in two years, and is now a Youngevity Vice Chairman Marketing Director. With a 15-year career in marketing and two little girls at home, Jenni raises her kids and her family's income at the same time and is passionate about coaching anyone who has: A) a desire for better health; B) a need for better wealth; C) patience for sass.
This entry was posted in Get Started, Tip of the Month and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to April Team Tip | The Most Important Thing…

  1. Great, great advice Jenni!
    You are changing the world my friend:)

  2. Carolyn says:

    thanks Jenni, very helpful:)

  3. Gina says:

    Love it!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

