July Team Tip | Today Matters

today mattersMy friend suggested a book that Paul and I have been enjoying lately. Actually, we’ve made it a whole family affair; I read aloud from it every morning while Paul makes Samantha’s Beyond Breakfast of Champions.

The book we’re reading often provokes conversations about our own personal goals, how to make the most of our day, and even the parenting choices we’ve made (and intend to keep making) for our daughter. We know that every single day, we are setting an example for her–we’re modeling the behaviors, good or bad, that she’ll one day exhibit–and that’s a very important reason we should recognize…spoiler alert…that

Today Matters

I’ve found this little “life nugget” to resonate with every business bone in my body, so this month’s team tip is dedicated to moms and dads, sons and daughters, and Beyond Organic business-building brothers and sisters alike.

The book we’re reading is titled, “Today Matters” (told ya) and it’s by speaker, author, and motivational leader, John C. Maxwell.

If you have occasion to see me give a Beyond Organic business presentation, you’re going to become very familiar with the excerpt below. Why? Because it says, better than I ever could myself, the single most important thing that needs saying when we share the Beyond Organic message with others: you need to take action today.

Today’s Baby Steps

baby stepsIn his book, Maxwell encourages people to start small. We know all too well how easy it can be to become overwhelmed with adopting a new attitude toward health. I’m often asked, “How can you afford to throw out everything in your fridge and pantry and start over?” and the answer is, I didn’t. Like Maxwell, I suggest people start small.

My recommendation is that you focus on replacing conventional items with organic products as they run out. That’s a lot easier on your family budget and your shopping schedule. That extra dollar or two you’ll pay to buy organic (rather than conventional) basil won’t break the bank, but it will provide ample nutrition (considering that conventional herbs and spices are irradiated, which reduces medicinal quality). This replacement shopping methodology allows us to improve our health gradually without an overwhelming shopping spree of “more expensive” items and a wasteful cleansing of our pantries.

Today’s Decisions

decisionAnother thing Maxwell suggests is that you make the decision to employ healthier eating habits (which necessitates conscious food purchasing, thoughtful meal-planning, and nutrition education) only once. After the decision is made, you need simply focus on creating the discipline to carry out that decision on a daily basis. For example, once you’ve decided to prioritize your health, you don’t have to “decide” not to buy that 12-pack of soda; you need only have the discipline to walk by that aisle without ever going down it. (Trust me. You don’t need anything that aisle has to offer.)

For me, it was the chip aisle. Oh, that sweet siren called to me every single time I went to the store. (And it seemed to call louder than ever after I made that healthful decision). I was tempted. I mean, really tempted. But I kept walking. Most of the time. That’s right…true confession: I slipped occasionally and bought something I knew I shouldn’t buy. But I didn’t use that as an excuse to quit. I forgave myself, recommitted, and moved on. And now that I’m two years into this journey, you know what? It’s a lot easier to skip that aisle altogether.

Today’s Understanding

understandingI understand that you’re not going to radically change overnight. I understand making a commitment to eat healthier foods takes ongoing work. I understand that higher costs, inconvenience, and occasional lack of will power will get the better of you sometimes. But I understand something else that matters more than all of that, and so does John Maxwell. And we want you to understand it, too. So here’s the passage I’ll be closing my presentations with, and here’s the take away from this month’s team tip:

You may have a million reasons not to get started now. But deep down, none of them can be as compelling as your desire to change, grow, and succeed. In a month or a year or five years from now, you may have only one regret—that you didn’t start now. Today matters. The way you spend today really can change your life. But the first decision you must make is to begin.

Excerpt From: John C. Maxwell. “Today Matters.” Warner Books, 2008-11-16. iBooks.
This material may be protected by copyright.

About jenni smith

Jenni Smith is a recovering fast food addict and a reformed couch potato who swore she'd never be a distributor... until the day she realized the only thing holding her back from reaching her true potential was her own stubbornness. And maybe a bit of fear. When she finally decided to put on her "big girl pants", Jenni (and her rock star husband, Paul) went from founding distributor to top earner in two years, and is now a Youngevity Vice Chairman Marketing Director. With a 15-year career in marketing and two little girls at home, Jenni raises her kids and her family's income at the same time and is passionate about coaching anyone who has: A) a desire for better health; B) a need for better wealth; C) patience for sass.
This entry was posted in Excerpts from the Exceptional, Tip of the Month and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

