How to Give Yourself a High Five When No One Else Will

Ever have one of those days where you find yourself spending more time patting yourself on the back than on doing the activities for which you should be congratulated?

Yeah, if I’m being honest, me too.

Sometimes, I want to be celebrated. Occasionally, I feel unappreciated and under-recognized. Am I? HECK NO. I have the most supportive husband, devoted parents, encouraging in-laws, an appreciative team, a kid that gives me kisses for just about anything, and a God that forgives my every mistake and loves me unconditionally. Sounds perfect, right? So why the heck do I throw my own pity parties?

Because I’m only human.

There are those moments where I’ll do a few things right and look around wondering, where is my parade? How tacky, I know. But I think all of us experience those times where we expect others to fulfill us; we look to others to make us happy. And that’s a problem.

Margaret Maxwell, wife of author John C. Maxwell, said it best in answer to the question posed in a room full of people, “Does John make you happy?” to which she replied:

‘No, he doesn’t… I thought it was John’s job to make me happy. But he didn’t. He wasn’t mean to me or anything. He’s a good husband. But nobody can make another person happy. That was my job.’

Well, said Peggy. (Do you mind if I call you Peggy?) And she’s right, but I often forget it. So I thought I’d provide some simple instructions for those–myself included–who need to give themselves a high five every once in a while and have that be enough. Ready? Samantha Smith will help me demonstrate.

self high fiveHow to Give Yourself a High Five

1.  Find a mirror.
2.  High five it.
3.  Move on.

I can only imagine how many times my dear husband Paul will remind me of this blog article when I’m acting like an “only child” and silently (or worse, loudly) begging for a pat on the back. But I’m publishing it anyway. Because we all need reminding that we are responsible for our own happiness and we can always give ourselves all the high fives we’ll ever need.

About jenni smith

Jenni Smith is a recovering fast food addict and a reformed couch potato who swore she'd never be a distributor... until the day she realized the only thing holding her back from reaching her true potential was her own stubbornness. And maybe a bit of fear. When she finally decided to put on her "big girl pants", Jenni (and her rock star husband, Paul) went from founding distributor to top earner in two years, and is now a Youngevity Vice Chairman Marketing Director. With a 15-year career in marketing and two little girls at home, Jenni raises her kids and her family's income at the same time and is passionate about coaching anyone who has: A) a desire for better health; B) a need for better wealth; C) patience for sass.
This entry was posted in Excerpts from the Exceptional, Get Motivated and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Give Yourself a High Five When No One Else Will

  1. Jenny says:

    So true! Thanks for sharing. Samantha is adorable, by the way! 🙂

  2. Alan says:

    I love this!!!
    You are so great. And appreciated!

Leave a Reply

