Fennel Recipes

fennel with lobsterWhat the heck is fennel? And what the heck am I supposed to do with it?

Those were my questions when I received my recent Spacegirl Organics produce order. After a bit of internet searching, I remembered why I’d never bought it before. It tastes like licorice. YUCK. Who are you kidding, fennel? Nobody wants you. You taste like the leftover jelly beans everyone picks over!

Poor fennel. But I’m not the only one who feels this way. I found a ton of recipes to “mask” the flavor of fennel. Still, I kind of pity the vegetable that no one wants. So, I decided to make it my job to fight for the little guy. And guess who won? EVERYONE!

Here are two of the crazy concoctions I created in my kitchen with very little work at all. The flavors were savory and a bit sweet, and my husband and I both wished we had more.

lobster and fennelOf course, we also happened to be feasting on lobster tail and cheesy baked potatoes by candlelight, so it would have been a pretty rockin’ meal even if the fennel did taste like gross old lady jelly beans.

I hope you’ll feel inspired to go grab some fennel and route for this underdog. You’ll be glad you did!

Caramelized Fennel Ingredients

  • 1 head of fennel
  • 2 T butter (organic, pastured, please)
  • 1/2 lemon
  • Kosher salt & cracked black pepper

Caramelized Fennel Recipe

  • cooking fennelCut the butt and the stalks off of your fennel bulb. (Yes, I know it feels like you’re wasting 3/4 of your fennel, but we’ll use the pretty green stuff in the next recipe.)
  • Remove the core. It’s hard and you don’t want it in there.
  • Slice your remaining fennel (I know, it’s not much) in 1/4 inch slices.
  • caramelized fennelHeat a stainless steel skillet with butter. I’d suggest medium to medium-high heat.
  • Drop in your fennel and coat it with the butter.
  • Let your fennel begin to sizzle. The trick is that we want to caramelize the fennel, so it’s going to need to get yummy and brown…but not burned. Resist the urge to stir for about 1-2 minutes, depending on your heat.
  • Stir your fennel and repeat the browning process. Make sure to spread your fennel out so it doesn’t pile up. Keep doing this (stirring and browning) for about 10-12 minutes. If you stir the entire time, you’ll have a hard time getting the browning to happen. So let it sit, but do NOT walk away. You’ll forget about it and you’ll quickly burn your fennel!
  • Plate your fennel.
  • Squeeze a bit of lemon onto your fennel and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Delish!

Fennel & Orange Salad Ingredients

  • 1 orange (mine came from Spacegirl Organics)orange fennel onion
  • 1 T fennel leaves, finely chopped
  • 1 T onion, minced
  • 1 t olive oil (I used some lemon olive oil from Florence I’d been waiting to try)
  • 1 t balsamic vinegar
  • Kosher salt & cracked black pepper

Fennel & Orange Salad Recipe

  • orange fennel onionPeeled and cut your orange into small pieces.
  • Get rid of as much of the membranes as possible.
  • Stir in remaining ingredients.
  • Let your bowl rest — you want the flavors to blend — so I made this at the beginning of dinner, but didn’t plate it until it was time to eat.
  • Serve as a side salad for a burst of flavor in every bite!
About jenni smith

Jenni Smith is a recovering fast food addict and a reformed couch potato who swore she'd never be a distributor... until the day she realized the only thing holding her back from reaching her true potential was her own stubbornness. And maybe a bit of fear. When she finally decided to put on her "big girl pants", Jenni (and her rock star husband, Paul) went from founding distributor to top earner in two years, and is now a Youngevity Vice Chairman Marketing Director. With a 15-year career in marketing and two little girls at home, Jenni raises her kids and her family's income at the same time and is passionate about coaching anyone who has: A) a desire for better health; B) a need for better wealth; C) patience for sass.
This entry was posted in What's Cookin' at the Smith's [Recipes] and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fennel Recipes

  1. Pingback: Caramelized Fennel | Space Girl Organics Blog - Local Florida Food, Fun, and People, organically of course!

  2. I love plain licorice :). I always search the jelly bean bags for the black ones and eat those first haha, so I absolutely LOVE the taste of fennel all on it’s own.

  3. Pingback: Confessions of a Fennel Freak: Green-Fed Burger Recipe | The Reformed Couch Potato's Blog

Leave a Reply

