Third-Party Validation: The Secret Sauce of Network Marketing

whiny personI’m wondering if you can relate to this story.

I heard the whiniest distributor once complaining over and over: “My business isn’t growing as fast as I thought! Why aren’t peopling joining faster? Why aren’t they saying YES and getting involved? What’s WRONG with these people?”

Ugh.

And do you know what the WORST part of the whining was?? It was coming out of MY MOUTH!

That’s right. I was the guilty whiner. (No, the picture above is not me. I look way whinier when I’m whining.)

It was over two years ago, and I was whining at my mentor/pal/enroller Mike Battistelli. He very politely asked, “Well, Jenni, how many 3-way calls have you done with me?”

I remember saying something to the effect of, “Well, um, I guess none, but I know about all this stuff already. I’ve been studying for months and listening to your calls. Trust me, Mike. I’ve got this.”

But guess who DIDN’T “GOT” THIS. (The answer is ME. Just in case you needed help with that one.)

And then, the epiphany.

Mike explained to me what I want to help you understand:
If you are not doing 3-way calls, you are not doing it right.

Okay. That was a little strong. I’ll soften it up (but wanted to make sure you were “listening”) and say that as long as you’re using some form of third-party validation, you’re probably safe. But if you’re not, you’ve got big trouble. I speak from personal experience.

What Is Third-Party Validation?

Third-party validation leverages the knowledge, skills, abilities, and personal success stories (and/or health testimonials) from others.

Said another way, it’s the secret sauce for overcoming the fact that your friends and family often don’t give you the credit you deserve.

But let’s face facts: they’ve seen you in the fast-food line, at the bar, and on the couch. Those days may be years behind you, but your friends and family don’t seem to realize it. So when you try to share with them a message about health and wealth, they seem…er…skeptical.

I mean, who wouldn't want to start a business with THIS winner?!

I mean, who wouldn’t want to start a business with THIS winner?!

They don’t mean to offend you. (Well, maybe some of them do, but you don’t want to do business with them anyway.)

Most of your friends and family just think of you as the inexperienced, unaccomplished, Taco Bell-eating, naive couch potato you USED to be. (Ok, that’s clearly who I used to be, but you can imagine your own ex-vices and poor fashion choices, can’t ya?)

So, third-party validation takes the emphasis off of you, and puts it on someone else — someone of whom your prospect has no preconceived notions — so that the message can be told without distraction.

Other Forms Of Third-Party Validation

The 3-way call is what we’re talking about in this article, but there are other forms including events and tools. An event can be a one-on-one, two-on-one, in-home, hotel meeting, or conference. A tool would be any resource such as a webinar, video, conference call, etc., where your prospect can be exposed to our business opportunity by someone other than you.

Your job is to get your prospect IN FRONT OF the message, NOT to be the message yourself.

Where To Learn More

"Read my lips: Listen to this call recording" -- Mike Battistelli

“Read my lips: Listen to this call recording” — Mike Battistelli

This past Thursday’s weekly team call (usually hosted by Mike Battistelli each Thursday at 1pm ET) was all about the topic of third-party validation.

Several top leaders chimed in to share their recommendations for third-party validation, and it was a phenomenal call.

I highly suggest you give it a listen. But don’t just take MY word for it. Do it because Mike Battistelli says so.

Listen to the replay here: https://www.freeconferencecallhd.com/playback/?n=RnlVp%2FjYBwN

About jenni smith

Jenni Smith is a recovering fast food addict and a reformed couch potato who swore she'd never be a distributor... until the day she realized the only thing holding her back from reaching her true potential was her own stubbornness. And maybe a bit of fear. When she finally decided to put on her "big girl pants", Jenni (and her rock star husband, Paul) went from founding distributor to top earner in two years, and is now a Youngevity Vice Chairman Marketing Director. With a 15-year career in marketing and two little girls at home, Jenni raises her kids and her family's income at the same time and is passionate about coaching anyone who has: A) a desire for better health; B) a need for better wealth; C) patience for sass.
This entry was posted in Leadership and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

